Law Agent

Legal Briefs Hub

Criminal Law

How to Define Aggravated Assault

A Georgia aggravated assault charge is a serious offense that can carry prison terms. It can also include other life-altering penalties, such as losing your civil rights. You should seek an Atlanta aggravated assault lawyer who is determined to fight the charges against you.

Putting someone in reasonable apprehension of receiving immediate physical injury can constitute assault. This can be proven by eyewitness testimony.

It is a felony

If you’re charged with aggravated assault, it’s important to know that Georgia considers this crime a serious offense and will punish you accordingly. The penalty varies depending on the situation, but can include financial fines and imprisonment. If you’re convicted, the consequences can be devastating for you and your family.

In Georgia, a crime of aggravated assault can be committed if you threaten to cause another person physical injury and the victim reasonably believes that he or she will be attacked. This could include threatening to break someone’s arm or swinging at them with brass knuckles. It can also be based on a threat to kill the victim or damage their property.

An aggravated assault conviction can result in prison time of anywhere from 1-20 years. It can be elevated to a felony under certain circumstances, such as assault on public transportation or domestic violence. It is also a felony to attack school staff members while performing their duties.

It is a misdemeanor

If you have been charged with assault or battery, it is important to seek the advice of a Georgia criminal defense lawyer. The right attorney can investigate the case to see if you were wrongfully charged, and they can also work to get the charges dismissed before trial. They can also help you defend yourself in a bail hearing.

Aggravated assault generally involves the use of a deadly weapon or intent to murder, rape or rob someone. However, it can even happen when there is no weapon involved. For example, using bare hands to strangle another person may be considered an aggravated assault in Georgia.

Depending on the severity of the injuries, a conviction for an aggravated assault could lead to financial fines and jail time of up to 20 years. For this reason, it is essential to hire a Georgia aggravated assault lawyer who is committed to fighting the charge and protecting your rights.

It is a crime of violence

A felony conviction of Georgia aggravated assault can carry stiff jail time and high fines. It can also have a negative impact on your personal life and career. Having a criminal attorney Atlanta by your side to help you fight the charge is a necessity. Learn what state laws define aggravated assault to help you develop a strong defense strategy.

Assault does not require actual physical contact in order to be considered aggravated. For example, simply pointing a gun at someone can be charged as aggravated assault. This is because the accused person is putting the victim in fear that they will be violently hurt.

A Georgia Assault Lawyer can help you get these charges dropped. They will investigate all the details of your case and evaluate your options. They will be available all hours of the day and night and will work with you to fight the charge. They will help you avoid a conviction that could have devastating consequences for your family.

It is a crime of the first degree

Unlike most states, Georgia defines aggravated assault as any assault with a deadly weapon or an object that is likely to cause serious injury. It also includes assault by discharging a firearm from a vehicle toward a person. It is also a felony when the attack occurs with the intent to murder, rape or rob someone. The felony penalties for these crimes are quite severe.

One of the most significant differences between aggravated assault and simple battery is that the victim must actually be injured. It is also a felony to assault a police officer, corrections officer, or any other public service employee. If you are convicted of these crimes, you could face prison time between three and 20 years.

The state of Georgia also imposes harsher penalties on repeat offenders. If you have a prior felony conviction, you should consult a criminal defense lawyer right away to get the best possible outcome for your case.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *